Hide a Version and Keep its Docs Online

If you manage a project with a lot of versions, the version (flyout) menu of your docs can be easily overwhelmed and hard to navigate.

../_images/flyout-overwhelmed.png

Overwhelmed flyout menu

You can deactivate the version to remove its docs, but removing its docs isn’t always an option. To not list a version in the flyout menu while keeping its docs online, you can mark it as hidden. Go to the Versions tab of your project, click on Edit and mark the Hidden option.

Users that have a link to your old version will still be able to see your docs. And new users can see all your versions (including hidden versions) in the versions tab of your project at https://readthedocs.org/projects/<your-project>/versions/

Check the docs about versions’ states for more information.